Antero's practice journal

Awakening of an office monk

Jumpy Attention

Jätä kommentti

40 min sit after asana practice

I observed the mind and paid attention to the quality and direction of the attention. If the attention was directed to me, I would note “yes”. If it was more expansive and directed away from my self, I noted “no”. This self contraction or turning of the attention towards the point from which the sensations were seemingly experienced seems to arise because the mind prefers some sensations over others.

This simple mode of enquire brought energy sensations to the trunk of the body and every now and then energy peaked and I felt some kind of rapture. At times the attention expanded in a way similar to 3rd gear perspective.

After twenty minutes I felt a shift happen and realised that I was observing the flux of attention on a more subtle level. I saw the attention rapidly switching back and forth between different objects but always briefly returning to the centre of the head.

Reply